The 2019 edition of the Chess Western Province League (27 July- 07 September) has come to an exciting end with the last round, prize giving and closing ceremony on 07 September 2019. This year the development section was played over 9 rounds and concluded within the first 3 weeks of the start of the League. The partnership Chess Western Province has with DCAS Western Cape and City of Cape Town has assisted us with the organising of a very efficient and cost-effective League.

 City of Cape Town

  • City has sponsored Chess Western Province for the 2019 League
  • Assisted with venues for the 11 Rounds played
  • Assisted with organising the Proteaville and Sarepta Recreational Centre for the entire League duration 27 July -September 2019
  • Sponsored participation medals to all players in each section.
  • Chess Western Province has committed to assist with chess training and education at the City of Cape Town Recreational hubs.
  • The City of Cape Town also made their 40 chess clocks and 3 DGT boards available for the entire duration of the Chess Western Province League.

DCAS (Department of Culture and Sport) Western Cape

  • Partnered with CWP for the 2019 Western Province League
  • Sponsored all winners medals and 5 big trophies for all sections in the League
  • R70 000 Grant to Chess Western Province for Admin, Capacity Development and Development.
  • Crossroads and Kraaifontein Chess Clubs are part of the DCAS development program. Clubs are provided with transport assistance, attire and equipment.

2019 Chess Western Province League Participants

  • Premier Division; 164 players
  • B-Division          ; 160 players
  • C-Division          ; 159 players  
  •  D-Division         ; 157 players 
  • Development     ; 252 players


  • 30 Board prizes over 5 Sections
  • 90 Winners medals
  • 5 Winners Trophies

Division Winners

Development Division

  • Simonstown Chess Club A
  • Crossroads C
  • 2Knights A

D Division

  • Kraaifontein B
  • Drakenstein Dragons A
  • Crossroads B

C Division

  • Kraaifontein A
  • Manyanani B
  • Stellenbosch C

B Division

  • Elsies River A
  • UWC A
  • CPUT A

Premier Division

  • Steinitz A
  • MRL A
  • UCT A


Eugene Steenkamp

Chess Western Province President


Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes